7000 Watt XP Series Portable Generator

7000 Running Watt Gas Generator (model #030478)

Model No. 030478

Powered by a Briggs & Stratton 2100 Series™ OHV engine, the Troy-Bilt XP 030478 portable gas generator produces 7000 running watts* and 10500 starting watts.  Convenient during power outages, this generator can power items such as lights, television, phone, refrigerator, sump pump, furnace or well pump. The 8.5 gallon fuel tank provides up to 11 hour run time at 50% load. The control panel features 4-120V 20A household type outlets and 1-120/240V 30A locking type outlet. For additional convenience, this unit features the Extend-a-Panel™ remote control with an LCD display showing power level in-use and maintenance reminders, as well as an overload alarm that flashes and sounds when generator capacity is reached.  (Available in all 50 states)

This item is currently unavailable on troybilt.com
7000 Watt XP Series Portable Generator is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 11.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_1820658, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_troybilt
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Where to Buy

SIGNATURE FEATURES
  • Extend-a-Panel™ Remote Control Panel
FEATURES
  • Available in all 50 states
  • 2-year limited warranty
  • Electric start for fast, effortless starting
  • Multi-featured control panel with rubber outlet cover and over current protection
  • LCD display provides power level in-use and maintenance reminders for hassle-free operation
  • Automatic voltage regulation helps maintain steady voltage for sensitive electronics
  • Includes a 25 ft cordset for extended reach
  • 10" Never Go Flat wheels for all-terrain mobility
  • 8.5 gallon metal fuel tank with fuel gauge for up to 11 hour run time at 50% load
  • *This generator is rated in accordance with CSA and PGMA standards
  • Briggs & Stratton 2100 Series™ OHV engine for long life, high performance and great fuel efficiency
  • **All power levels are stated gross torque at 2600 RPM pwer SAE J1940 as rated by engine manufacturer

*as rated by engine manufacturer

SPECIFICATIONS
  • 7000
  • 10500
  • 120 / 240
  • 58.3 / 29.1
  • Briggs & Stratton 2100 Series
  • 420cc* OHV
  • 21.00 ft-lbs*
  • 8.5 gallon
  • 11 hours
  • Electric / recoil
  • Yes
  • No
  • Yes
  • No
  • 10" Never Go Flat
  • 20"(L) x 27.5"(W) x 25.5"(H)
  • 151 lbs
  • 2-Year Limited (Product) Consumer Use, 90 Day Limited (Product) Commercial Use
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constantly breaks down over a speck of dust Piece of garbage, don't waste your money, the brand name used to mean quality now it means plastic parts, not reliable.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extend a panel display dosen't work I bought this 3 days ago and used it today for the first time Everything works great except there is no data on the extend a panel display. I am having difficulty reaching anyone who can help me with this.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provides Electricity for Our House This is a GREAT generator!! Easy to start, keeps power going for several hours on a full tank of gas. Though it is a little on the loud side, I would rather have the noise instead of no power!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good generator for its price point I purchased this unit second hand - model top rated by Consumer Reports - I would swear it was brand new when I picked it up. It is a bear to start manually, so to use the electric starter, you really have to fuss with the battery on a tender. This is second nature if you own a motorcycle, otherwise, read up on this or have your motorcycle friend show you -- there is no discussion of it in the manual. Replacement batteries are easily had. A really neat aspect of this generator is that it accepts a motorsnorkel.com tri-fuel conversion, and I had my gas plumber add a quick disconnect to both the main gas line to our house and the generator, and I run the generator off natural gas. I use a can of ether to get the motor turning over, and with the air out of the gas lines, it runs, and it runs. It is recommended to shut it down every 24 hours to check the oil. And oil should be changed at 50 hours. Like others have said, this is a terribly loud machine, and I would pay extra for an alternate muffler setup. We have chosen to turn off the generator at 11 PM so as to give the neighbors some peace.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Irma .. Lost power for six days. Previous generator died. Purchased this unit and it is awesome. Our old Generator woul run five hours then need fuel we last about 10+ hours at about 34% . At first I thought the usage gauge was overkill but after trying different combinations of appliances/fans it allowed us to maximize our usage and fuel. It's not that loud compared to our old Generator. Electric start is something I really like, the fuel gauge helps to monitor usage. The exhaust is really hot and is located near the front of the unit exiting to the side. My only two recommendations are about the exhaust and fuel tank fill cap. Please consider a deflector for the exhaust. And move the fuel fill cap to the other end of the tank as the fill cap and exhaust are right in line with each other so a spill would land on the muffler. No a big issue if you let cool before refilling, I didn't have that luxury. In short a darn good unit stayed in continuous service without a glitch.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from loud , but good..conflicted instructions I've owned this Generator for a couple years now and have used it 3 times for about 15 hours. Likes: easy starting, starter battery float charger. multiple output plugs. It handles the power it claims. Dislike: Louder than most. Conflicting instructions. The instruction manual says to fill oil to top of fill mark on dipstick,but measure the level by NOT screwing the dipstick all the way in. After doing that and running the generator I found days later a little drop of oil under the generator, I put cardboard under the generator and weeks later checked it. It had grown to a big spot. I checked the level the next time before running as per the instructions. It was at half way, but I ran it anyway since the unit has a low oil auto shut down. After use I put fresh cardboard under it. Weeks later, a big oil spot. Now I drained all the oil out and put in exactly what the motor manufacturer recommends. 1 qt. No leaks so far. The dipstick reads halfway screwed in with the unit level. The manual says not to overfill the oil. Now I hope I haven't damaged the unit by running it all those hours overfilled!
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Works great starts easy runs entire house no problem with large capacity
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Unit ! I've had the unit 5 yrs and no problems yet. Its got quite a workout so far. Although the portable outlet panel cannot be left on unit out in the weather. I don't understand why neither Troy-Bilt or Briggs & Stratton will own up to this product. Troy-Bilt does not let you put this in your Tool Shed. Reason I went with this unit is the Briggs engine. Which most people don't realize when buying a generator most have an unknown engine maker. Thus, getting parts will be a real issue. I found this out buying a unit from tool supply store HF.
Date published: 2016-01-26
  • y_2018, m_9, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_1820658, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_troybilt
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT