Vortex™ Tracker 2890 Snow Thrower

28" Three-Stage Snow Thrower - 357cc Troy-Bilt Engine - Track Drive

Model No. 31AH7DQ8711

The Vortex™ Tracker 2890 three-stage snow thrower moves more snow in less time. The 12" accelerator that makes the three stage process possible spins at 10 times the speed of the Xtreme™ augers, breaking down the heaviest, wettest snow before throwing it out the high-impact chute. The Vortex Tracker 2890 three-stage snow thrower is equipped with a 357cc Troy-Bilt® engine and D-track drive system. Track drive creates more ground contact for superior control, traction, and durability in all winter conditions.

This item is currently unavailable on troybilt.com
Vortex Tracker 2890 Snow Thrower is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 13.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_2039192, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_troybilt
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 57ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Where to Buy

SIGNATURE FEATURES
  • Three-Stage Design

    The 12" accelerator spins 10 times faster than the augers, first breaking down heavy, wet snow like it was fresh powder. Then, with the help of the augers, it continuously shoots snow back into the third stage impeller for discharging.

  • D-Track drive system

    The diamond shaped drive system creates 50% more ground contact than before, providing added stability and traction in heavy snow and ice.

  • Touch ’n Turn® Power Steering

    The Touch ’n Turn® power steering system is controlled by two easy triggers. Simply squeeze the trigger on the side you want to turn toward, and the unit’s self-propelled drive system will turn the snow thrower for you.

  • Just One Hand® Operation

    Just One Hand® operation lets you guide your Troy-Bilt® snow thrower with literally one hand. Because the machine is engineered to be well-balanced and easy to control, it does the work – not you.

  • Heated hand grips
  • In-Dash Headlight
  • Push Button Electric Start
FEATURES
  • All-wheel drive
  • 6 forward / 2 reverse speeds
  • 28" clearing width
  • 21" intake height
  • 12" serrated steel augers
  • Deluxe reversible skid shoes
  • Reflective strips for safer operation in low light conditions
  • 357cc* 4-cycle OHV engine
  • 2-year limited warranty, 5-year limited auger gearbox warranty

*as rated by engine manufacturer

SPECIFICATIONS
  • Troy-Bilt®
  • 357cc OHV
  • Electric / Recoil
  • 28"
  • 21"
  • 12"
  • 12"
  • 4-way (joystick)
  • Polymer / 200 degrees
  • Standard clearing device
  • All Wheel Drive
  • 6 forward / 2 reverse
  • Touch 'n Turn® Power Steering
  • Just One Hand®
  • Heated grips
  • 5 Qt
  • Extended
  • In-dash headlight
  • 4.7" x 15.8" Track Foot Print
  • Deluxe polymer
  • 258 lbs
  • 48.25" (L) x 32.75" (W) x 32.50" (H)
  • 2-year limited / 5-year limited auger gearbox
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's a monster of a snow blower First used winter 2018, love it for the really heavy snow walk at a regular pacethowing snow 30'. also have a troy-bilt 2620 from 2011& have no problems or complaints. was just looking for something beefier for the really heavy snow. The tracker makes lite work of it.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the tracks Great machine, works wonderfully without issue starting. Tracks make it move up hill with ease. Can't get enough snow to keep this beast down
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from vortex tracker I purchased this vortex 3 stage after my 2 stage tracker was damaged in an accident. I Have a place near Yellowstone park and the track is able to handle deep snow. The one disadvantage is the chute control. You have to operate it by hand and it is difficult to move from side to side. The 2 stage track had an electric joy stick which made it very easy to use. The three stage tracker is heavier and the chute control makes it difficult to handle. If the chute control were electric it would be perfect, but I can honestly say I would not purchase this model again.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One minor tweak needed This unit replaced a 30 year old track drive snow blower. I found the handle for locking the snow blower head in transport, gravel, normal, or packed positions to be inconvenient. It wouldn't let the snow blower head float like I was used. After removing this handle, it works just the way I would expect it to.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The track wheels should be made of metal I like most things about this snow thrower. It starts well, performs well, and is easy to handle. The heated handlebars make the job of throwing snow more comfortable. There's really just one part of the machine I dislike: the track wheels, i.e. the wheels that drive the treads. They're plastic. That's OK until one cracks in the midst of clearing snow, and suddenly the machine will only go in circles. After I'd had my snow thrower for about two months and a half-dozen snowstorms, the hub on one of the track wheels cracked. I was able to get it replaced under warranty, but that meant two trips to my nearest Troy-Bilt authorized repair center (60 miles away) to drop off and return the machine. I've since learned that one of Troy-Bilt's major competitors makes its track wheels (and its snow chutes on its snow throwers) out of steel. I wish Troy-Bilt did, as well. I'd happily pay more for a more durable machine. Dear Troy-Bilt: please have your engineers, not your accountants, make engineering decisions.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let it snow let it throw The Storm Tracker was damaged do to either shipping or the warehouse when someone put a heavy load on top of the box and crushed the exhaust and choke rendering it useless to me. I returned it to Lowes and they made it the best return I've ever experienced, Kudos to you Lowes. The second Storm Tracker arrived looking great. The snow blower starts up within two to three seconds with electric starter. It starts up with a good firm pull on the rope within three to four pulls. The snow blower throws at different distances due to heavy snow or volume of snow you are removing. The snow blower throws icy and heavy snow about 12' to 20' depending on volume. The lighter snow with more volume throws about 20' to 25'. I have had heavy slushy snow throw about 6' to 10'. The snow blower has to work hard but it handles the build up left in my driveway by the county plow. The snow blower turns good on the snow but not so good on dry pavement. The assembly of the snow blower was effortless and only took a few minutes. Con; The shaft linking the chute to the control handle will come out of the female hexagon fitting when you apply a "lot" of downward pressure on the handle bars when aiding in the turning of the snow blower. I noticed when I assembled the snow blower that the linkage was on the short side and may be an issue. I'm enjoying my new machine in Mount Shasta with an average annual snow fall of 7'. let it snow, let it snow I recommend the Troy-Bilt 2890 storm tracker three stage blower
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Troy-Bilt Vortex Tracker 2890 3-Stage Snow Blower Just received last week. About 30 minutes to assemble - mostly just the chute assembly. Topped off oil with recommended 5W/30 synthetic oil, added gas and it fired up immediately. Minor snowstorm yesterday - the "bomb cyclone" hit Philly area dropping only about 4-5 inches, but lots of wind caused large drifts. Driveway entrance was plowed in with about 16" heavy snow. This machine blasted through it without a problem at forward speed set to 3. Cleared even higher drifts around mailbox no problem. My old snowthrower - a mid-1990s 2-stage 5HP Sears Craftsman (that also had tracks) would have struggled and require backing off repeatedly to not stall. This engine is 357cc which is about 11-12 HP. Only negatives - chute is a bit harder than I expected to maneuver side to side, and the 2nd (fastest) reverse speed is still too slow. I knew about both of these issues from reading other reviews. Also the three-stage systems leave a small mound of snow at the end of a run. No biggie. No snowthrower is perfect, but this thing really is a beast, and did a great job clearing the my large driveway, long walkways, plowed-in driveway, and high drifts very quickly.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jan 2018. Bomb Cyclone. About 200 feet long driveway with a 17-degree incline. These track-drives worked great, only getting stuck a couple of times when I tried to move the machine too fast in the approximated 10 inches of snow I got in my area. Not too tough to unstuck though with a little elbow grease because the tracks will work continuously. Stopped for a gas tank refill and the engine started again with just one pull. Broke 2 shear pins in the storm and the inner-center auger's shear pin is a little too tricky to replace. Overall, it does what I needed it to do, to throw snow far and away from the blacktop and to climb without sliding. The only improvement that would be good to have is adding brakes to the machine to slow it down when plowing the decline part of the slope. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2018-01-06
  • y_2018, m_7, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_2039192, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_troybilt
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 22ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT