TB490 XP™ 4x4 Self-Propelled Mower

21" 4x4 Self-Propelled Mower with 3-in-1 Capability

Model No. 12A-N2DQ711

$499.99

Quantity
Where to Buy

Troy-Bilt's TB490 XP™ 4x4 mower is the industry’s first four-wheel drive mower that lets you switch between front-wheel drive, rear-wheel drive and all-wheel drive on the go. Equipped with a powerful 190cc* Honda® GCV series engine with Automatic Choke System (ACS) to prevent engine flooding, the TB490 XP™ delivers the long-lasting and durable performance you trust. Get a clean cut, every time with the TriAction® cutting system. Smarter tire tread design provides more confident handling and traction. One-hand operation lets you switch to all-wheel drive while keeping one hand free. With the TB490 XP™ 4x4 mower, depend on the traction you need for any condition or terrain.

3-year Limited Warranty
TB490 XP 4x4 Self-Propelled Mower is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 8.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_2225210, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_troybilt
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 80ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

SIGNATURE FEATURES
FEATURES
  • 21" steel mulching deck
  • 3-in-1 convertible - side discharge, mulch or rear bag
  • Standard 1.9-bushel grass catcher (included)
  • Dual-lever deck height adjustment
  • One-Hand Operation
  • Protective Front Bumper
  • 190cc* Honda® GCV Series engine
  • 3-year limited warranty

*as rated by engine manufacturer

SPECIFICATIONS
  • 21" TriAction™ cutting system w/ intergrated deck wash
  • Dual-lever deck height adjustment
  • Honda® GCV Series
  • 190cc*
  • Standard recoil with ACS
  • AWD
  • Variable Four Wheel Drive
  • 6 settings from 1.25" to 3.75"
  • 3-in-1, side discharge, mulch or rear bag
  • 2.3 bushel (included)
  • 1.0 qt.
  • 12oz 10W30 (included)
  • Adjustable 3 position Ergo w/ Comfort Grip
  • 8" front, 11" rear, All-Terrain Tread
  • 96 lbs.
  • 17.75 x 24 x 40.38
  • 3-year limited
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hills My home is on top of a hill, and is quite steep. The 4WD climbs the grade without missing a beat.
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable strong product Purchase this product six months ago and I am very please with its performance thus far.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mower Mower is on its second year. Extremely pleased. I have a hilly backyard and this is perfect.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TB490 XP 4x4 Self-Propelled Mower My son was needing a mower and so was I. We agreed to share one and went to look. He came home with the TB490 XP 4x4 Self-Propelled Mower. This mower has been so dependable. As I am getting older I sometimes find it hard to start the mower but not this one. Starts first time every time. Plus with it being self-propelled it is much easier for me to us. My last husband always told me never buy anything other then a Troybilt and I can see why.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just disappointed We really expected better performance out of this mower. It arrived damaged and we couldn't get a replacement part from customer service. If the mower tips slightly from level ground the engine sputters. As long as it is on flat level ground it runs great. Really expected better performance from a mower that claims to be 4x4. Temporarily fixed the broken part in hopes that someday a replacement would show up. Disappointed with the product and VERY disappointed with customer service.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent mower The independent front and rear trans levers and with both engaged makes it a 4X4 so much power climbs hills and moves across soft ground with ease. makes mowing ditch area a breeze. Now I want a Troy-Bilt XP Grass Trimmer 18" Straight Shaft Gas String 27-cc 2-Cycle TB2044XP to be complete, the cost of the mower was expensive so that will have to wait..No regrets with this machine and the replacement self propelled Troy Bilt lasted more then 13 years trouble free. TB490 XP 4x4 Self-Propelled Mower with the Honda motor is a work horse like no other.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've only mowed a few times, But The Troy-Built built name was one of my reasons for purchasing. I purchased the mower with 4 wheel drive, Honda engine, high rear wheels. The mower wasn't the cheapest one on display. I purchased the mower because the lawn at my summer cottage is very hilly, and I am too old to push a hand mower up hills by myself. There is no adjustment for the speed of self propelled drives or the engine. The rear wheel drive forces me into a slow trot to mow. Front wheel drive is a mowing pace I can handle but seems to not have a lot of traction. I'm not comfortable using both drives at once. If there is a way of adjusting the engine speed I haven't figured it out yet. Putting the rear bag on the mower requires exact positioning. When the bag is removed there is always a big chunk of grass still in the mower. I hope I will be happier with my purchase as I continue to use it. The one feature I do like is the garden hose attachment to clean the mower after use.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this mower. The mower performs extremely poorly. I get angry every time I use it. Big mistake to purchase it. PROS: 4X4 works well. CONS: Heavy and difficult to maneuver and does not lift grass for a good even cut. Considering selling at a big loss so i can go back to enjoying mowing my yard.
Date published: 2017-05-07
  • y_2018, m_7, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_2225210, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_troybilt
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT